Being Grateful for the Everyday

“Any idiot can face a crisis. It’s day to day living that wears you out.” – Anton Chekhov

I get about 8 hours of sleep a night, I swear. Still, when I’m sitting at my desk I find myself pulling my eyelids apart with my fingers, quite literally. Sound familiar?

Why is it that people innately crave routine, but get so beaten down by it whenever they have it?

I remember being younger, in school and completely without stimulation, and begging the heavens to let something different happen, even something terrible. I just wanted something new to see, to feel, to live through. I still want that.

I have no idea how to do the day-to-day thing with enthusiasm, but today I had an idea that just might get help me get through part of it: Just wake up as someone else.

It’ll be just like playing cops & robbers, or house, the way kids do. I’ll choose to be a villian, or royalty in disguise, or maybe, a caveman fuddling through the modern world. I’ll be Maeby from Arrested Development – a high school kid faking her way through a Hollywood executive’s job. In my head (read: not to my boss’s face) I’ll convince myself to be overwhelmed and amazed with my everyday duties. How could a cavemen not be intrigued by InDesign?

The thing is, crises don’t come around every day. And I wouldn’t want them to, but sometimes we need crises to remind ourselves to think and feel. Don’t know about you, but I don’t think and feel when I’m tapping at my office keyboard.

It isn’t just bad things. We can’t meet a soul mate or rescue another person or chase a goat out of the eleventh floor of the office every day, either. Everyday is kind of boring, no matter who you are, and that’s just sort of the way it is.

Maybe my caveman idea isn’t the key to overcoming the everyday, but it’s little things like these that we have to look for (and work for) to get us through until the next big reprieve from routine. If you have better suggestions, throw them at me, of course.

  • Completely related: Tonight I signed up for the Creative Every Day Challenge. I’m not necessarily hoping to paint or even write every day, but I am hoping to be creative with the way I interact with people and the way I wake up in the morning.

Leave a Reply

